Sex and the City Part Deux

Photo Credit: HBO

Photo Credit: HBO

So I was definitely one of those few who had to see the “Sex and the City” movie a few times before I could appreciate it for what it was: a sub par-yet-somewhat-entertaining version of a really awesome small-screen masterpiece.

I am not sure what took me so long to come around.  It could have been the utter over-hype;  the plot leaks;  maybe the swerving and endless theater lines full of New York’s faux glitterati; the bigger-than-life and ultimate dilution (to a degree) of a show that could have been just left alone;  or maybe it was just the incessant rabid fans who in their bargain-basement garb,  swore they were some incarnation of Carrie.  Whatever it was, I did eventually watch the movie a number of times at home (with a cosmo and my Vogue) and for what is was worth found the storyline a feasible transition for the main characters.

Well, for those who can’t get enough of these getting-up-there hipsters, there definitely seems to be a sequel on the horizon.  The secret script seems to have gotten some sort of green light.   As early as yesterday there was an open cast call for extras for the movie.  I am sure the gays were out in drones!

There is no doubt I am very interested in what direction they will take this movie.  Carrie pregnant?  Miranda divorced and a lesbian?  I don’t know the possibilities seem endless and I am not sure if I truly care that much.  We’ll see.

I am not one for brutal punishment a second time around so I think I may have to wait for this one to come on DVD or at least wait for a month after its release to see it in the theaters.

2 Responses to Sex and the City Part Deux

  1. […] Webster.  The hottie, who has appeared in Playgirl, is more known by me from his appearance on Sex and the City as that inside-trading gigilo and one of Samantha’s conquests.  Remember when he dropped […]

  2. […] As expected, fans were out in drones during the first day of shooting for the sequel of Sex and the City. While they filmed on the Upper East Side a single scene of Sarah Jessica Parker hailing a cab, the […]

Leave a Reply

